Maxville joins the Festival of Small Halls 2016 venue roster

Thursday, May 19, 2016

We just couldn’t keep all of the exciting Ontario Festival of Small Halls news to ourselves – so we’re starting a blog! Until October we’ll be posting once a week to give you the inside scoop on the festival’s community venues, the schedule, artists, musical musings and more.

Today, we’re sharing news of another addition to the Festival of Small Halls roster. We recently confirmed our 24th rural venue for this year’s expanded festival and are delighted to welcome St. James Catholic Church in Maxville to the schedule for 2016. That brings the total new halls in this year’s festival line-up to 10.

The new host communities this year stretch from Burritt’s Rapids to Elgin and from Winchester to Pakenham. Halls from last year are once again preparing to welcome the Festival of Small Halls such as those in Seeley’s Bay, Morton, Pembroke, Spencerville, McDonald’s Corners and many more. More than 30 new halls applied to be a part of the festival, hailing from across Eastern Ontario. The additional venues were selected based on their history, charm and the vibrancy of their volunteer teams. While all halls chosen are beloved community gathering places, several harbour unique spaces: two of the new halls are barns, another two are churches and one is even a restored schoolhouse! Those authentic spaces will come alive with exceptional music from September 15 to October 2, 2016 when the Festival of Small Halls blends big names in music with local openers to attract visitors, build community and remind us why we hold these halls close to our hearts.

We’re looking forward to staying connected with you every week throughout the next few months, sharing news about the local halls and artists. Be sure to follow along on social media, too, as we’re gearing up to announce the Festival of Small Halls schedule in mid-June!

Is there a hall hosting a festival event in your town? Take a peek at the full list of venues here:

Almonte Old Town Hall · Nick Smith Centre Hall, Arnprior · Joshua Bates Centre, Athens · Stonefields, Beckwith · ABC Hall, Bolingbroke · Burritt’s Rapids Community Hall · Chaffey’s Lock Community Hall · Delta Old Town Hall ·  The Red Brick School, Elgin · Fire Hall Theatre, Gananoque · Maberly Community Hall · St. James Catholic Church, Maxville · McDonald’s Corners Agricultural Hall · Morton Community Hall · Lyndhurst Legion Hall · St. Andrew’s United Church, Pakenham · Pembroke Festival Hall · Ecotay, Perth · Seeley’s Bay Community Hall · Spencerville Mill · The Ivy on William, Smiths Falls · Union Hall, Mississippi Mills · Westmeath Recreation Centre · Winchester Old Town Hall